Merging two projects is when you move all tasks from one project into another. The simplest way is to drag the project in the sidebar over the target project and release it. The app will ask for confirmation, and then you'll have one project containing all tasks from both projects. Optionally you can give it a new name.
In case if you've merged two or more projects by mistake, you can always undo these actions.